Learning to drive is a major milestone in a teenager's life. It is important and required by the State of Georgia for young or inexperienced drivers to learn safe driving techniques and fundamentals. Called Joshua's Law, it states that if you are 16 years old, you must complete a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services (DDS) in order to receive a Class D License. Individuals who do not complete an approved driver education course must wait until age 18 to become licensed.
Athens Technical College campuses offers the 36-hour course that meets the State of Georgia requirements for Joshua's Law. This 36-hour classroom course teaches the basic fundamentals required to safely operate a motor vehicle on Georgia's roadways. It covers signs and signals, road markings, vehicle control, right-of-way determination, and all necessary road rules. The course includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and six additional hours of on-the-road instruction. All students must be 15-17 years old and have a valid Georgia Learner's permit in order to register.
The course fee is $350. Limited scholarship vouchers are available one time per student for those who qualify. The class fee is payable by scholarship voucher, check, money order, Visa, or MasterCard and is required at the time of registration. If you paid for the class prior to receiving a scholarship voucher, the class fee will be reimbursed once your child successfully completes the class per the scholarship requirements. Payments are accepted over the phone.
Your child may be eligible for a scholarship through the Georgia Driver's Education Commission. Please visit www.gahighwaysafety.org/GDEC/ for scholarship eligibility criteria and the scholarship application. If your child receives a scholarship, he/she must complete the training per the scholarship requirements. If you paid for the class prior to receiving a scholarship voucher, the class fee will be reimbursed once your child successfully completes the class per the scholarship requirements.
How do I register?
Once the student receivers his or her voucher (if you do not have a voucher, regular $350 class price will apply), each student will need to complete both the Online Registration form as well as the Registration Packet below. You may scan/email, fax, mail, or hand deliver registration documents as indicated in the registration packet.
Student must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind-the-wheel driving instruction to receive certification, and student must have learner permit prior to class.
Students may also call 706-369-5763 with additional class registration questions/sign-up.